My trip to Costa Rica

Posted: April 19, 2014 in Life, leisure, and travel, Uncategorized

I have been traveling for almost 24 hours now and I’m still not toy destination! I’m tired, hungry, and America deprived to say the least. I don’t travel out of the country often, so this trip has been more mentally exhaustive than anything.

I had to drive to Chicago where I was stuck in stand still traffic for over an hour, I then had to fly to ft. Lauderdale in what seemed to be the smallest carrier plane ever built!! On top of having to sit straight up throughout the entire trip with the passengers hard plastic back leaned into my sensitive knees, my seat was broken and would not lean back or latch in any position.

So once we finally arrived in Florida at 11:30pm, the layover kept getting longer and longer as problems with the airlines kept evolving. So once we departed from the “Dale”, on what seemed to be the second smallest plane ever built, I was on my way to tropical paradise…San Jose airport! While I waited 8 hours for my bus to arrive to bring me to my final destination!

Thinking that it has been 96 degrees on a regular basis in Costa Rica, I didn’t think to bring any warm clothing for what seemed like below arctic temperatures in the airport there…
So while I sucked down every ounce of “joe” that Lavasta, a Costa Rican cafe, had to offer to maintain what little body heat I had left, I found out my bus was not picking me up where they had originally told me.

So I preceded to jog around the airport, to stay warm,(I didn’t really jog) while trying to figure out where the restaurant Denny’s was. So I could get to this so called tropical paradise. 30 minutes later, after exhausting every possible avenue to find the only thing I know to be American, Denny’s, I’m sitting here eating what has to be the best cheat meal I have had in a long time while I sweat bullets and sip my piping hot coffee…a golden brown Belgian waffle, bacon, sausage, and scrabbled eggs. Ahh, relief at last. I will keep you updated with the rest of my trip and let you know how great or how terrible the gyms are in this not so resorty area. Until next time…chao!

20140419-065819.jpg

Leave a comment